Tyrae Robinson missed on a jumper for Ball State, and Ohio deflected the rebound out of bounds. But Freeman, diving head first, was able to save the ball into a teammate.
“It was probably a dumb save,” Freeman said. “The only thing I can say in my defense was that it was a two-possession game at that point.” Looks like he thought it through also.
Last Edited: 1/31/2011 5:48:08 PM by cc-cat
Last Edited: 1/31/2011 8:13:23 PM by anorris
SECTION
A player is credited with an assist when the player makes, in
the judgment of the statistician, the principal pass contributing
directly to a field goal (or an awarded score of two or three
points). Only one assist is to be credited on any field goal and
only when the pass was a major part of the play. The same player
cannot be credited with an assist and a field goal made on
the same possession. We have long maintained that if the initial pass came 2 passes away that the principle pass was the fellow who saw the open man on the other side of the floor. Have never really got a good ruling on that one. True especially if the guy who made the initial pass is pointing to the receiver to keep the ball going over to the weak side as it is obvious that is his intention.
A.R.
9. Adams passes to Allen in a situation that normally
would warrant an assist but does not produce a
field goal because (a) there is defensive goaltending or
defensive basket interference, (b) Allen is fouled in the act
of shooting, or (c) Allen travels, fumbles the pass out of
bounds or has the shot blocked. RULING: In (a), there will
be an awarded score, so credit Adams with an assist. In (b)
and (c), no assist will be awarded.
Last Edited: 2/1/2011 11:37:20 AM by tiptondevilcat
Copyright ©2025 BobcatAttack.com. All rights reserved. | Privacy Policy | Terms of UsePartner of USA TODAY Sports Digital Properties